Novice here - Eager to learn how to be a good gamer

Hello Y8 Community - Apologies for if wrong place to post this request

I’m JB and I’ve recently discovered the virbrant and diverse culture of online the gaming communities. I think it could be a healthy way of helping me improve my human interactions and treatment towards others.

I am interested in games like Roblox but I have problems with substance use and unfortunately some disrepectful behaviours, unfortunately repeated mysogyny. I’m not asking for professional counseling but if a moderator or experienced Roblox / Minecraft player could give me some brief advice about staying staying safe , respectful online with then I would appreciate their time and brief advice.

To be more clear - Middle Aged Man with some guilt behaviour issues wants to know if online gaming could be healthy part of recovery/behaviour, modofication.

Please delete post isn’t appropriate.

Not attempt to ‘shitpost’, troll.

Sincerely,

JB

1 Like

Mh… I’ll leave the post, but not sure why are u asking on Y8 forums about Roblox/Minecraft players, while Y8 is not owner of these 2. Isn’t it, like, more logical to post on their forum?
Also about 95% high chance u gonna get advice from really young ppl, which again, not sure how helpful can be.

If u have issues with raging in pvp games, answer is simple, take a break from them. Play something that is either single player or MMO. And if that is not helping (return after taking a break), just quit them fully. Not everyone reacts the same and I’ve seen a lot of it, as moderator and as person who plays games in free time too (private).

1 Like

Play one game you like or love, get used to the mechanics, figure out if there is some strategy, look at some guides if you feel like some changes need to be made. For MMOs I would recommend Realm of the mad god. If you want single player, I could recommend Minecraft but I would recommend if you search up Roguelikes.

1 Like